Looking to take a break? This quick tutorial will guide you on how to deactivate a Facebook account temporarily as well as permanently. There are important implications of both the terms and you must understand these to avoid losing Facebook posts forever. It is advisable to clearly understand the difference. Here’s how you do it!
When you’re deactivating Facebook account temporarily
Temporary deactivation means that none of your Facebook posts and information will be lost. Everything will be invisible though. All your pictures, status updates, and other posts will not be visible.
Your messages will still be visible in respective chat conversations. People won’t be able to message anymore though.
If you have previously posted in a group, those posts stay live along with the comments on them. The option to view them is only available to the admin of the group and not the general public or members.
Your profile name will be visible in the friend list of your friends when you deactivate temporarily.
How to deactivate facebook account temporarily?
Log into your Facebook account and click on the dropdown button. It’s the last button in the top right corner.
- Click on the Settings option from the list that appears.
- Select the option that says General at the left of the screen.
- Choose Manage your account option from the list.
- After that click on Deactivate your account.
- You will be prompted through a few security checks and some basic questions. Fill them up and you’ll be done.
When you’re deactivating Facebook account permanently
Wondering how to deactivate a Facebook account completely? Yes, that’s possible but it’s a long process. When you request your account to be completely deleted, none of your posts and profile information remains on Facebook.
Because all your posts have URLs, it takes up to 90 days in order to delete them completely from the internet. This process can’t be reversed once done.
You will need to request Facebook to initiate this process manually. Once the deletion process is underway, it takes about 14 days to lodge the request. If you cancel the deletion request within this time, you can revert back to your account.
How to deactivate a Facebook account permanently?
Deactivating the account permanently is also referred to as deleting the account.
- Log in to your Facebook account and go to Delete Account.
- Read the warning message and make sure you agree with it.
- Click on Delete my account button for permanently deleting your account.
- You will be asked to fill in your password to verify.
This was all about Facebook account deletion and deactivation. There’s a clear difference between the two. One is meant for taking a break from Facebook while the other totally gets you off Facebook forever. Be sure that you understand the difference before following the process. It can turn out hasslesome later on if you don’t read the warnings before hand. Whichever be the case for you, it’s easy to delete or deactivate your account by following the steps given in this article.
James writes SEO/SMO articles for businesses that want to see their Google search rankings surge His articles have appeared in a number of Websites. He contributes articles about SEO/SMO techniques regularly.